HBO’s Lovecraft Country: Episode Recaps and Guide

From the Lovecraft Country HBO Series

Episode guide and recaps for Lovecraft Country, which will start airing on HBO in August 2020. From executive producers Jordan Peele, Misha Greene and J.J. Abrams, Lovecraft Country is a 10-episode adaptation of Matt Ruff’s sci-fi novel of the same name. It’s a collection of Lovecraftian stories set in 1950’s Jim Crow-era America.

(See the review, synopsis & chapter-by-chapter summary of Matt Ruff’s Lovecraft Country)

You can watch the trailer for the HBO adaptation below. The episodes will run from August 16 to October 18, 2020. I’ll be following along here and providing recaps of the episodes, and comparisons with the book for anyone who’s interested!

Lovecraft Country Book Comparison

See HBO’s Lovecraft Country: Differences Between the Book versus the Show

Lovecraft Country Episode Recaps

George, Lettie and Tic after a Vampire Encounters

S1, Ep1: “Sundown” Recap (Premiere)

August 16, 2020

Description: Veteran and pulp-fiction aficionado Atticus Freeman travels from the Jim Crow South to his South Side of Chicago hometown in search of his missing father Montrose. After recruiting his uncle George and childhood friend Letitia to join him, the trio sets out for “Ardham,” MA, where they think Montrose may have gone looking for insight into Atticus’ late mother’s ancestry. As they journey across the Midwest, Tic, Leti, and George encounter dangers lurking at every turn, especially after sundown.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 1 “Sundown” Recap

S1, Ep2: “Whitey’s on the Moon” Recap

August 23, 2020

Description: Inexplicably recovered from their terrifying night, Leti and George luxuriate in their new surroundings, while Atticus grows suspicious of their Ardham Lodge hosts – Christina Braithwhite (Abbey Lee) and her elusive father Samuel (Tony Goldwyn) – who unveil cryptic plans for Atticus’ role in their upcoming “Sons of Adam” ceremony. Later, after Tic, Leti, and George stumble upon a clue that could lead them to Montrose, each takes an unwelcome walk down memory lane.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 2 “Whitey’s on the Moon” Recap

S1, Ep3: “Holy Ghost” Recap

August 30, 2020

Description: Hoping to mend her relationship with her sister Ruby (Wunmi Mosaku), Leti turns a ramshackle Victorian on Chicago’s North Side into a boarding house – an endeavor that stokes neighborhood racism and awakens dormant spirits stuck in the house. Meanwhile, Atticus remains burdened by a guilty conscience as George’s wife Hippolyta (Aunjanue Ellis) presses him for the full story of what happened in Ardham.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 3 “Holy Ghost” Recap

S1, Ep4: “A History of Violence” Recap

September 6, 2020

Description: After Christina mysteriously shows up at her doorstep, Leti confronts Atticus about his plan to surreptitiously return to Florida. Later, in search of missing pages to a crucial text, Leti, Tic, and Montrose head to Boston, with Hippolyta and Diana (Jada Harris) along for the ride. Back in Chicago, a handsome stranger nurses Ruby’s disappointment over a squandered job opportunity.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 4 “A History of Violence” Recap

S1, Ep5: “Strange Case” Recap

September 13, 2020

Description: After making a devil’s bargain with William, Ruby steps into the charmed shoes of a white woman, but her transformation only fortifies her resentment of the racial divide. A betrayal by Montrose unleashes Atticus’ pent up rage, leaving Leti deeply disturbed and sending Montrose into the comforting arms of his secret lover.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 5 “Strange Case” Recap

Nursing student Ji-Ah, as played by Jamie Chung

S1, Ep6: “Meet Me in Daegu” Recap

September, 20 2020

Description: In the throes of the Korean War, nursing student Ji-ah crosses paths with a wounded Atticus, who has no recollection of their violent first encounter.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 6 “Meet Me in Daegu” Recap

S1, Ep7: “I Am.” Recap

September 27, 2020

Description: Hippolyta’s relentless search for answers takes her on a multidimensional journey of self-discovery and Atticus heads to St. Louis to consult an old family friend.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 7 “I Am.” Recap

S1, Ep8: “Jig-A-Bobo” Recap

October 4, 2020

Description: A distraught Diana finds herself in Captain Lancaster’s crosshairs. When a visitor from his past arrives at the boarding house, Atticus and Leti each take steps to protect their future.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 8 “Jig-A-Bobo” Recap

S1, Ep9: “Rewind 1921” Recap

October 11, 2020

Description: With Hippolyta at the helm, Leti, Tic, and Montrose travel to 1921 Tulsa in an effort to save Dee.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 9 “Rewind 1921” Recap

S1, Ep10: “Full Circle” Recap (Finale)

October 18, 2020

Description: Season One Finale. After uncovering the origins of the Book of Names, the gang heads back to Ardham to cast the ultimate spell.

Episode Recap: Season 1, Episode 10 “Full Circle” Recap

Share this post


Bookshelf -- A literary set collection game