Main / Books / Malibu Rising

Malibu Rising

By Taylor Jenkins Reid

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid, A story about four famous siblings and an epic party in Malibu. Malibu Rising is set to be released on May 25, 2021.


In Malibu Rising, four famous siblings throw an epic party to celebrate the end of the summer. But over the course of twenty-four hours, their lives will change forever.

Malibu: August 1983. It’s the day of Nina Riva’s annual end-of-summer party, and anticipation is at a fever pitch. Everyone wants to be around the famous Rivas: Nina, the talented surfer and supermodel; brothers Jay and Hud, one a championship surfer, the other a renowned photographer; and their adored baby sister, Kit. Together the siblings are a source of fascination in Malibu and the world over—especially as the offspring of the legendary singer Mick Riva.

The only person not looking forward to the party of the year is Nina herself, who never wanted to be the center of attention, and who has also just been very publicly abandoned by her pro tennis player husband. Oh, and maybe Hud—because it is long past time for him to confess something to the brother from whom he’s been inseparable since birth.

Jay, on the other hand, is counting the minutes until nightfall, when the girl he can’t stop thinking about promised she’ll be there. And Kit has a couple secrets of her own—including a guest she invited without consulting anyone.

By midnight the party will be completely out of control. By morning, the Riva mansion will have gone up in flames. But before that first spark in the early hours before dawn, the alcohol will flow, the music will play, and the loves and secrets that shaped this family’s generations will all come bubbling to the surface.

Malibu Rising is a story about one unforgettable night in the life of a family: the night they each have to choose what they will keep from the people who made them . . . and what they will leave behind.

Early Book Reviews

The Bibliofile’s Review of Malibu Rising is coming soon. For now, here are some early reviews of Malibu Rising:

Coming soon (when available)!

What to Know about Malibu Rising

Malibu Rising is the newest upcoming novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid, set to be released May 25, 2021.

Malibu Rising features one of Reid’s characters that has appeared in two of her other books, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Daisy Jones & The Six.

Mick Riva is one of the four siblings that Malibu Rising is about, but the character appeared originally as the third husband of Evelyn Hugo. He later pops up at a party that Daisy Jones attends.

Reid announced her new novel on Instagram with the following posts:

Related Content

Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Book Review: Daisy Jones & the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Share this post