20 Best Romance & Chick Lit Books of 2020

2020 best romance chick lit and rom com books novels

If you’re looking for some fun and flirty romance, here are your best bets for chick lit and rom-com books for 2020! These are all new release books in the romance genre that are coming out in 2020.

This list is mostly based on others’ recommendations and early reviews for books that are not released yet. I’ll be updating this list as the year progresses and books get released. Happy reading!


The Two Lives of Lydia Bird
Josie Silver | Ballantine Books

What It's About: Lydia and Freddie. Freddie and Lydia. They'd been together for more than a decade, and Lydia thought their love was indestructible.

But she was wrong. On her twenty-eighth birthday, Freddie died in a car accident.

So now it's just Lydia, and all she wants to do is hide indoors and sob until her eyes fall out...

Publication Date: March 3, 2020
  


One to Watch
Kate Stayman-London | Dial Press Trade Paperback

What It's About: Real love...as seen on TV

Bea Schumacher is a devastatingly stylish plus-size fashion blogger who has amazing friends, a devoted family, legions of Insta followers--and a massively broken heart. Like the rest of America, Bea indulges in her weekly obsession: the hit reality show Main Squeeze...

Publication Date: July 7, 2020
  


Beach Read
Emily Henry | Berkley

What It's About: A romance writer who no longer believes in love and a literary writer stuck in a rut engage in a summer-long challenge that may just upend everything they believe about happily ever afters.

Augustus Everett is an acclaimed author of literary fiction. January Andrews writes bestselling romance...

See the Full Summary and Review of Beach Read

Publication Date: May 19, 2020
  


If I Never Met You
Mhairi McFarlane | HarperCollins

What It's About: If faking love is this easy... how do you know when it’s real?

When her partner of over a decade suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling—not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Her once perfect life is in shambles and the thought of dating again in the age of Tinder is nothing short of horrifying...

Publication Date: August 4, 2020
  


The Authenticity Project
Clare Pooley | Pamela Dorman Books

What It's About: "A story about a solitary green notebook that brings together six strangers and leads to unexpected friendship, and even love--think Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine meets Love, Actually.

"Everybody lies about their lives. What would happen if you shared the truth?" This is the question that Julian Jessop, an eccentric, seventy-nine-year-old artist, poses within a pale green exercise book that he labels The Authenticity Project, before leaving it behind in Monica's Café...

Publication Date: February 4, 2020
  


28 Summers
Elin Hilderbrand | Little, Brown and Company

What It's About:

Publication Date: June 16, 2020
  


Party of Two (The Wedding Date #5)
Jasmine Guillory | Berkley

What It's About: A chance meeting with a handsome stranger turns into a whirlwind affair that gets everyone talking.

Dating is the last thing on Olivia Monroe's mind when she moves to LA to start her own law firm. But when she meets a gorgeous man at a hotel bar and they spend the entire night flirting, she discovers too late that he is none other than hotshot junior senator Max Powell...

Publication Date: June 23, 2020
  


What You Wish For
Katherine Center | St. Martin's Press

What It's About: From Katherine Center, the New York Times bestselling author of How to Walk Away comes a stunning new novel full of heart and hope.

Samantha Casey loves everything about her job as an elementary school librarian on the sunny, historic island of Galveston, Texas—the goofy kids, the stately Victorian building, the butterfly garden...

Publication Date: July 14, 2020
  


You Deserve Each Other
Sarah Hogle | G.P. Putnam's Sons

What It's About: When your nemesis also happens to be your fiancé, happily ever after becomes a lot more complicated in this wickedly funny, lovers-to-enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy debut.

Naomi Westfield has the perfect fiancé: Nicholas Rose holds doors open for her, remembers her restaurant orders, and comes from the kind of upstanding society family any bride would love to be a part of...

Publication Date: April 7, 2020
  

The Happy Ever After Playlist
Abby Jimenez | Forever

What It's About: Two years after losing her fiancé, Sloan Monroe still can't seem to get her life back on track. But one trouble-making pup with a "take me home" look in his eyes is about to change everything. With her new pet by her side, Sloan finally starts to feel more like herself. Then, after weeks of unanswered texts, Tucker's owner reaches out...

Publication Date: April 14, 2020
  


How to Save A Life
Liz Fenton | Lake Union Publishing

What It's About: The bestselling authors of The Good Widow deliver a modern, suspenseful twist on Groundhog Day that asks the question: How far are you willing to go to save the life of someone you love?

Dom is having a very bad day—one he literally can’t escape.

When Dom bumps into Mia, his ex-fiancée whom he hasn’t seen in almost a decade, he believes they’ve been given a second chance and asks her out...

Publication Date: July 14, 2020
  


Regretting You
Colleen Hoover | Montlake

What It's About: Morgan Grant and her sixteen-year-old daughter, Clara, would like nothing more than to be nothing alike.

Morgan is determined to prevent her daughter from making the same mistakes she did. By getting pregnant and married way too young, Morgan put her own dreams on hold. Clara doesn’t want to follow in her mother’s footsteps...

Publication Date: December 10, 2019
  


Dance Away With Me
Susan Elizabeth Phillips | William Morrow

What It's About: At long last, the legendary New York Times bestselling author returns with a heartfelt novel of womanhood, a wild heart, and the healing power of love.

Run, run, as fast as you can!

When life throws her one setback too many, midwife and young widow Tess Hartsong takes off for Runaway Mountain...

Publication Date: June 9, 2020
  


The Switch
Beth O'Leary | Flatiron Books

What It's About: Eileen is sick of being 79.
Leena's tired of life in her twenties.
Maybe it's time they swapped places...

When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen's house for some overdue rest...

Publication Date: August 18, 2020
  


Well Played (Well Met #2)
Jen DeLuca | Berkley

What It's About: Another laugh-out-loud romantic comedy featuring kilted musicians, Renaissance Faire tavern wenches, and an unlikely love story.

Stacey is jolted when her friends Simon and Emily get engaged. She knew she was putting her life on hold when she stayed in Willow Creek to care for her sick mother, but it's been years now, and even though Stacey loves spending her summers pouring drinks and flirting with patrons at the local Renaissance Faire, she wants more out of life...

Publication Date: September 22, 2020
  


Spoiler Alert
Olivia Dade | Avon

What It's About: Olivia Dade bursts onto the scene in this delightfully fun romantic comedy set in the world of fanfiction, in which a devoted fan goes on an unexpected date with her celebrity crush, who’s secretly posting fanfiction of his own. 

Marcus Caster-Rupp has a secret. While the world knows him as Aeneas, the star of the biggest show on TV, Gods of the Gates, he's known to fanfiction readers as Book!AeneasWouldNever, an anonymous and popular poster...

Publication Date: October 6, 2020
  


Young Adult Fiction

Tweet Cute
Emma Lord | Wednesday Books

What It's About: A fresh, irresistible rom-com from debut author Emma Lord about the chances we take, the paths life can lead us on, and how love can be found in the opposite place you expected.

Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around perfectionist. Her family may be falling apart, but their massive fast-food chain is booming ― mainly thanks to Pepper, who is barely managing to juggle real life while secretly running Big League Burger’s massive Twitter account...

Publication Date: January 21, 2020
  


Yes No Maybe So
Becky Albertalli | SIMON & SCHUSTER

What It's About: Jamie Goldberg is cool with volunteering for his local state Senate candidate — as long as he’s behind the scenes. When it comes to speaking to strangers (or, let’s face it, speaking at all to almost anyone), Jamie’s a choke artist. There’s no way he’d ever knock on doors to ask people for their votes…until he meets Maya...

Publication Date: August 5, 2020
  


More Than Just A Pretty Face
Syed M. Masood | Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

What It's About: For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn't lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he's funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day...

Publication Date: August 4, 2020
  

2020 best romance chick lit and rom com books novels

2020 best romance chick lit and rom com books novels