Books Like The Four Winds: 8 Great Books to Read Next


books like the four winds what to read if you liked the four winds by kristin hannah

If you finished reading The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah and are looking for something similar to get lost in, here’s a list of Books Like The Four Winds to read next!


The Great Alone
Kristin Hannah

What It's About: Also by Kristin Hannah, The Great Alone tells a survival story as well. In this iteration, its protagonists are learning to survive in the Alaskan wilderness.

Publication Date: February 6, 2018
  
historical fiction book club audiobook


The Grapes of Wrath
John Steinbeck

What It's About: Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath is generally considered the classic Great Depression-era novel. If you're interested in revisiting this time period and the struggle of migrant farmworkers, it could also be an opportunity to cross one of the classics of your list of 'must-read' books.

Publication Date: April 14, 1939
  
classics historical fiction classic


The Joy Luck Club
Amy Tan

What It's About: If you loved exploring the mother-daughter relationship in The Four Winds, I'd strongly recommend that you check out The Joy Luck Club, which is a book well worth reading. The Joy Luck Club is about a group of Chinese immigrants in America, and it tells a set of interlinking stories about those women and their daughters. It's a book about understanding and forgiveness.

Publication Date: September 21, 2006
  
historical fiction classics china


Room
Emma Donoghue

What It's About: If the theme of resilience and the bond between a parent and a child appeals to you, Room is a fantastic novel about a woman trying to survive an impossible situation. Jo is a captive of a man who kidnapped her seven years ago, and her son has only know life in that room. Jo and Jack's story is captivating and well-excuted, but fair warning that the book is told from the perspective of 5-year-old Jack, so you can decide whether that's something that you could enjoy.

Publication Date: August 20, 2010
  
book club contemporary books i own


The Driest Season
Meghan Kenny

What It's About: Set in the American Heartland, farm life is difficult due to an on-going drought and sixteen-year-old Cielle's father has recently died. For another story about farming, family, struggles and self-discovery, The Driest Season runs a brisk 192 pages and is a lesser-known book that's worth considering.

Publication Date: February 13, 2018
  
historical fiction historical coming of age


The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl
Timothy Egan

What It's About: If you're interested in the historical context around The Four Winds, The Worst Hard Time is a critically acclaimed non-fictional account that follows twelve families and their struggles during this challenging time.

Publication Date: December 14, 2005
  
history non fiction american history


The Nightingale
Kristin Hannah

What It's About: I'm guessing most people who read The Four Winds have probably already read The Nightingale since it's also authored by Kristin Hannah and was immensely popular. But if you haven't, it's a tear-jerker of a WWII story that is loved by many.

Publication Date: October 8, 2015
  
historical fiction book club historical


Water for Elephants
Sara Gruen

What It's About: Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants provides a slightly different perspective on Despression and Prohibition-era America. Jacob Jankowski is distraught following the death of his parents and ends up joining a circus. It's a book filled with wonder that takes you on a entertaining journey, filled with romance. I'll also add that it's a book club-type book in the same way that The Four Winds is (relatively fast paced, not too literary, accessible, interesting plot, etc.)

Publication Date: April 9, 2007
  
historical fiction book club romance

books like the four winds what to read if you liked the four winds by kristin hannah

books like the four winds what to read if you liked the four winds by kristin hannah

Share this post