Book Cover Face-off 2018 Edition

In writing this blog, I really wanted to focus on coming up with thoughtful or insightful content about books … usually. This is not one of those posts.

Today, we’re here to judge books by their cover! Yay! More specifically, I thought it’d be fun to pit the United States versions of book covers against their European siblings and see who wins!

Important: If you’re browsing via e-mail or a feed, you’ll probably need to go here in order to vote!

#1: Little Fires Everyhere by Celeste Ng

US BOOK COVER (LEFT) VS. UK BOOK COVER (RIGHT)

The poll has ended! Thanks to everyone who participated!

I think I’m partial to the UK version. I really like the scripty calligraphic writing used on it juxtaposed with the delicate burning house. It’s lovely.

From the publisher: “A riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives.” See it on Amazon (US version) or Book Depository (UK version).

#2: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

US BOOK COVER (LEFT) VS. UK BOOK COVER (RIGHT)

The poll has ended! Thanks to everyone who participated!

I like that the UK version gives you more of an indication of what the book is about, but I have to hand this one to the US version. The font on that UK version just doesn’t work for me. It looks like the font is either London Tube or P22 Johnston Underground, but either way it looks like it’s meant to be a paragraph/body text font as opposed to a headline font.

Anyway, I started reading this book, but I’m not done with it yet. I liked what I read so far though.

From the publisher: “For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?” See it on Amazon (US version) or Book Depository (UK version).

#3: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

US BOOK COVER (LEFT) VS. UK BOOK COVER (RIGHT)

The poll has ended! Thanks to everyone who participated!

I’ve already discussed this book and it’s cover at length, so mosey on over here if you want to read my review! :)

From the publisher: “The smart, warm, and uplifting story of an out-of-the-ordinary heroine whose deadpan weirdness and unconscious wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes. . . The only way to survive is to open your heart.” See it on Amazon (US version) or Book Depository (UK version).

#4: Circe by Madeline Miller

US BOOK COVER (LEFT) VS. UK BOOK COVER (RIGHT)

The poll has ended! Thanks to everyone who participated!

So, neither of these pictures really do the cover justice — in the gold parts, both hardcover versions are covered in this outer-embossed gold metallic paint/foil which looks nice. Here’s another photo of it from an angle, which shows it off a little better. Anyway, I like both, but went ahead and bought the UK version.

Publisher says: “A bold and subversive retelling of the goddess’s story.” See it on Amazon (US version) or Book Depository (UK version)

#5: Transcription by Kate Atkinson

US Book Cover (Left) vs. UK Book Cover (Right)

The poll has ended! Thanks to everyone who participated!

I’m torn on this one. I like them both. I like flamingos, but the US version looks more like it’d be an espionage novel. The UK version was originally released with a limited edition version that had cool red-ish/pink-edged pages to match the cover but I don’t think the UK version should get extra points for that because most copies aren’t going to have it. So this one is a wash for me.

From the publisher: “A dramatic story of WWII espionage, betrayal, and loyalty.” See it on Amazon (US version) or Book Depository (UK version).


By the way, there’s research that suggests that left-handers give a slight bias towards objects positioned on the left and right-handers tend toward a bias for objects positioned on the right. Does that make you want to re-think your selections? Hmmm…

Thanks for reading and/or participating! This is kind of a silly post, but I’m out of town for a few days and will be a little tied up, so I figured I would post something at least, haha. Hope you enjoyed it! Happy reading this weekend!