Best New Books to Read in September 2019

september 2019 fall best books new release

And just like that, summer’s almost over. Well, the good news is, there’s a bunch of exciting fall new releases coming out in September. Notably Margaret Atwood‘s sequel to the Handmaid’s Tale, The Testaments, will be released and Ta Nehisi-Coate‘s first fiction offering, The Water Dancer, as well. I’m reading The Water Dancer right now, and I really like it so far, so you can expect to see that review up here soon.

Plus, if you’re an xkcd fan, Randall Monroe has a new book out, entitled How To: Absurd Scientific Advice for Common Real-World Problems.

Also, Stephen King has a new book out, The Institute, which will drop around the same time that It: Chapter Two hits the theaters.

See the full list of September picks below. Note that if you’re reading via the WordPress reader or an RSS feed, you may need to visit the actual page to view it properly! What do you think about these titles? Any that you plan on reading?


The Testaments
Margaret Atwood | Nan A. Talese

What It's About: In this brilliant sequel to The Handmaid's Tale, acclaimed author Margaret Atwood answers the questions that have tantalized readers for decades.

When the van door slammed on Offred's future at the end of The Handmaid's Tale, readers had no way of telling what lay ahead for her--freedom, prison or death...

Publication Date: September 10, 2019
  


The Water Dancer
Ta-Nehisi Coates | One World

What It's About: Young Hiram Walker was born into bondage. When his mother was sold away, Hiram was robbed of all memory of her—but was gifted with a mysterious power. Years later, when Hiram almost drowns in a river, that same power saves his life. This brush with death births an urgency in Hiram and a daring scheme: to escape from the only home he’s ever known...

Publication Date: September 24, 2019
  


The Institute
Stephen King | Scribner

What It's About: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It—publishing just as the second part of It, the movie, lands in theaters.

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV...

Publication Date: September 10, 2019
  


How To: Absurd Scientific Advice for Common Real-World Problems
Randall Munroe | Riverhead Books

What It's About: The world's most entertaining and useless self-help guide, from the brilliant mind behind the wildly popular webcomic xkcd and the #1 New York Times bestsellers What If? and Thing Explainer

For any task you might want to do, there's a right way, a wrong way, and a way so monumentally complex, excessive, and inadvisable that no one would ever try it...

Publication Date: September 3, 2019
  


Cold Storage
David Koepp | Ecco

What It's About: For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism

When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction...

Publication Date: September 3, 2019
  


Dutch House
Ann Patchett | Harper

What It's About: At the end of the Second World War, Cyril Conroy combines luck and a single canny investment to begin an enormous real estate empire, propelling his family from poverty to enormous wealth. His first order of business is to buy the Dutch House, a lavish estate in the suburbs outside of Philadelphia. Meant as a surprise for his wife, the house sets in motion the undoing of everyone he loves...

Publication Date: September 24, 2019
  


The Secrets We Kept
Lara Prescott | Knopf

What It's About: A thrilling tale of secretaries turned spies, of love and duty, and of sacrifice—inspired by the true story of the CIA plot to infiltrate the hearts and minds of Soviet Russia, not with propaganda, but with the greatest love story of the twentieth century: Doctor Zhivago.

At the height of the Cold War, two secretaries are pulled out of the typing pool at the CIA and given the assignment of a lifetime...

Publication Date: September 3, 2019
  


The World That We Knew
Alice Hoffman | Simon & Schuster

What It's About: In 1941, during humanity’s darkest hour, three unforgettable young women must act with courage and love to survive, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Dovekeepers and The Marriage of Opposites Alice Hoffman.

In Berlin, at the time when the world changed, Hanni Kohn knows she must send her twelve-year-old daughter away to save her from the Nazi regime...

Publication Date: September 24, 2019
  

september 2019 fall best books new release reading