25 Most-Anticipated and Best Books of 2022


best books of 2022 most anticipated fiction books new and upcoming 2022 books coming soon

With new books being announced for 2022 and plenty of early reviews being published, it’s time to take a look at the most-anticipated and best books coming in 2022.

This list of the Most-Anticipated and Best Books of 2022 is based on what I’ve read, early buzz, and reviews others have written. It’s limited to books that are being newly published in 2022.

I’ll be updating this list as 2022 goes along, and I’d expect the titles listed here to shift pretty dramatically as books are released and additional titles are announced, so stay tuned!

Have a suggestion for this list of the Most-Anticipated and Best Books of 2022? Drop a comment below!


The Diamond Eye
Kate Quinn

What It's About: The New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code returns with an unforgettable World War II tale of a quiet bookworm who becomes history's deadliest female sniper. Based on a true story.

In the snowbound city of Kiev, wry and bookish history student Mila Pavlichenko organizes her life around her library job and her young son--but Hitler's invasion of Russia sends her on a different path...

Publication Date: March 29, 2022
  
2022 releases giveaways wwii


The Maid
Nita Prose

What It's About: An alternative cover edition for this ISBN can be found here.

Molly Gray is not like everyone else. She struggles with social skills and misreads the intentions of others. Her gran used to interpret the world for her, codifying it into simple rules that Molly could live by.

Since Gran died a few months ago, twenty-five-year-old Molly has been navigating life’s complexities all by herself...

Publication Date: January 4, 2022
  
mystery 2022 releases mystery thriller


Book Lovers
Emily Henry

What It's About: One summer. Two rivals. A plot twist they didn’t see coming…

Nora Stephens’ life is books—she’s read them all—and she is not that type of heroine. Not the plucky one, not the laidback dream girl, and especially not the sweetheart. In fact, the only people Nora is a heroine for are her clients, for whom she lands enormous deals as a cutthroat literary agent, and her beloved little sister Libby...

Publication Date: May 3, 2022
  
2022 releases 2022 tbr contemporary


The Paris Apartment
Lucy Foley

What It's About: Jess needs a fresh start. She’s broke and alone, and she’s just left her job under less than ideal circumstances. Her half-brother Ben didn’t sound thrilled when she asked if she could crash with him for a bit, but he didn’t say no, and surely everything will look better from Paris. Only when she shows up – to find a very nice apartment, could Ben really have afforded this? – he’s not there...

Publication Date: February 22, 2022
  
mystery thriller mystery thriller


Sea of Tranquility
Emily St. John Mandel

What It's About: The award-winning, best-selling author of Station Eleven and The Glass Hotel returns with a novel of art, time, love, and plague that takes the reader from Vancouver Island in 1912 to a dark colony on the moon three hundred years later, unfurling a story of humanity across centuries and space.

Edwin St...

Publication Date: April 5, 2022
  
science fiction sci fi historical fiction


Violeta
Isabel Allende

What It's About: This sweeping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of A Long Petal of the Sea tells the epic story of Violeta del Valle, a woman whose life spans one hundred years and bears witness to the greatest upheavals of the twentieth century.

Violeta comes into the world on a stormy day in 1920, the first girl in a family of five boisterous sons...

Publication Date: January 25, 2022
  
2022 releases 2022 tbr historical


Gallant
V. E. Schwab

What It's About: Everything casts a shadow. Even the world we live in. And as with every shadow, there is a place where it must touch. A seam, where the shadow meets its source.

Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for girls, and all she has of her past is her mother’s journal—which seems to unravel into madness...

Publication Date: March 1, 2022
  
fantasy young adult 2022 tbr


Lessons in Chemistry
Bonnie Garmus

What It's About: A delight for readers of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, this blockbuster debut set in 1960s California features the singular voice of Elizabeth Zott, a scientist whose career takes a detour when she becomes the star of a beloved TV cooking show.


Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman...

Publication Date: April 5, 2022
  
historical fiction 2022 releases humor


Reminders of Him
Colleen Hoover

What It's About: A troubled young mother yearns for a shot at redemption in this heartbreaking yet hopeful story from #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover.

After serving five years in prison for a tragic mistake, Kenna Rowan returns to the town where it all went wrong, hoping to reunite with her four-year-old daughter...

Publication Date: January 18, 2022
  
romance 2022 releases colleen hoover


The Christie Affair
Nina de Gramont

What It's About: Nina de Gramont's The Christie Affair is a beguiling novel of star-crossed lovers, heartbreak, revenge, and murder—and a brilliant re-imagination of one of the most talked-about unsolved mysteries of the twentieth century.

Every story has its secrets.
Every mystery has its motives.

“A long time ago, in another country, I nearly killed a woman...

Publication Date: January 20, 2022
  
2022 releases mystery historical


One Italian Summer
Rebecca Serle

What It's About: When Katy’s mother dies, she is left reeling. Carol wasn’t just Katy’s mom, but her best friend and first phone call. She had all the answers and now, when Katy needs her the most, she is gone. To make matters worse, their planned mother-daughter trip of a lifetime looms: two weeks in Positano, the magical town Carol spent the summer right before she met Katy’s father...

Publication Date: March 1, 2022
  
romance contemporary 2022 tbr


The Golden Couple
Greer Hendricks

What It's About: If Avery Chambers can’t fix you in 10 sessions, she won’t take you on as a client. Her successes are phenomenal--she helps people overcome everything from domineering parents to assault--and almost absorb the emptiness she sometimes feels since her husband’s death.

Marissa and Mathew Bishop seem like the golden couple--until Marissa cheats...

Publication Date: March 8, 2022
  
2022 releases thriller mystery


The Book of Cold Cases
Simone St. James

What It's About: A true crime blogger gets more than she bargained for while interviewing the woman acquitted of two cold case slayings in this chilling new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Sun Down Motel.

In 1977, Claire Lake, Oregon, was shaken by the Lady Killer Murders: Two men, seemingly randomly, were murdered with the same gun, with strange notes left behind...

Publication Date: March 15, 2022
  
mystery thriller mystery thriller


The It Girl
Ruth Ware

What It's About: The #1 New York Times bestselling author of One by One returns with an unputdownable mystery following a woman on the search for answers a decade after her friend’s murder.

April Coutts-Cliveden was the first person Hannah Jones met at Oxford.

Vivacious, bright, occasionally vicious, and the ultimate It girl, she quickly pulled Hannah into her dazzling orbit...

Publication Date: July 12, 2022
  
mystery thriller thriller mystery


The Family Remains (The Family Upstairs #2)
Lisa Jewell

What It's About: A woman stops at nothing to find her husband’s murderer in this psychological thriller about twisted marriages, fractured families, and deadly obsessions...

When Rachel Rimmer’s phone rings in the early morning, she is shocked when she hears her husband’s housekeeper sobbing on the line...

Publication Date: August 9, 2022
  
thriller to buy mystery thriller


Yonder
Jabari Asim

What It's About: The Water Dancer meets The Prophets in this spare, gripping, and beautifully rendered novel exploring love and friendship among a group of enslaved Black strivers in the mid-19th century.

They call themselves the Stolen. Their owners call them captives. They are taught their captors’ tongues and their beliefs but they have a language and rituals all their own...

Publication Date: January 11, 2022
  
2022 releases historical giveaways


Family of Liars (Prequel to We Were Liars)
E. Lockhart

What It's About: The thrilling prequel to the TikTok phenomenon and #1 New York Times bestseller We Were Liars takes readers back to the story of another summer, another generation, and the secrets that will haunt them for decades to come.

A windswept private island off the coast of Massachusetts.
A hungry ocean, churning with secrets and sorrow...

Publication Date: May 3, 2022
  
young adult mystery contemporary


Babel, or The Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators' Revolution
R. F Kuang

What It's About: Traduttore, traditore: An act of translation is always an act of betrayal.

1828. Robin Swift, orphaned by cholera in Canton, is brought to London by the mysterious Professor Lovell. There, he trains for years in Latin, Ancient Greek, and Chinese, all in preparation for the day he'll enroll in Oxford University's prestigious Royal Institute of Translation — also known as Babel...

Publication Date: August 23, 2022
  
fantasy historical fiction dark academia


House of Sky and Breath (Crescent City #2)
Sarah J. Maas

What It's About: Bryce Quinlan and Hunt Athalar are trying to get back to normal―they may have saved Crescent City, but with so much upheaval in their lives lately, they mostly want a chance to relax. Slow down. Figure out what the future holds.

The Asteri have kept their word so far, leaving Bryce and Hunt alone...

Publication Date: February 15, 2022
  
2022 releases 2022 tbr to be released


For the Throne (Wilderwood #2)
Hannah F. Whitten

What It's About: The First Daughter is for the Throne
The Second Daughter is for the Wolf...

Red and the Wolf have finally contained the threat of the Old Kings but at a steep cost. Red's beloved sister Neve, the First Daughter is lost in the Shadowlands, an inverted kingdom where the vicious gods of legend have been trapped for centuries and the Old Kings have slowly been gaining control...

Publication Date: June 7, 2022
  
fantasy 2022 tbr romance


The Alienist at Armageddon (Dr. Laszlo Kreizler #3)
Caleb Carr

What It's About: When The Alienist was first published in 1994, it became a literary phenomenon, sold millions of copies and was a worldwide sensation. It became a modern classic, and a cornerstone of the historical suspense genre.After more than twenty years, the Alienist is back! The Alienist at Armageddon begins in the winter of 1915, soon after the start of the First World War...

Publication Date: September 1, 2022
  
historical fiction to buy series


Thursday Murder Club Book 3 (Thursday Murder Club #3)
Richard Osman

What It's About: A new mystery is afoot in the third book in the Thursday Murder Club series from million-copy bestselling author Richard Osman. Coming September 2022!

Publication Date: September 13, 2022
  
series to buy 2022 releases

best books of 2022 most anticipated fiction books new and upcoming 2022 books coming soon

Share this post