Best Historical Fiction Books for 2024 (New & Anticipated)


2024 historical fiction books best new release most anticipated

There’s a number of interesting historical fiction books on the docket for 2024, with a couple I’m looking forward to in particular.

I just finished The Women by Kristin Hannah, about female veterans of Vietnam, which I thought was really solid.

I also have my eye on titles like The Phoenix Crown by Kate Quinn and Janie Chang, and potentially The Great Divide by Cristina Henríquez.

This list is a roundup of the best New and Anticipated 2024 Historical Fiction New Release Books, based on early reviews and buzz and what I’ve read. I’ll be updating this list as new titles are released or announced, as I read more of these books, etc. — so check back later for more!


The Women
Kristin Hannah

What It's About: An intimate portrait of coming of age in a dangerous time and an epic tale of a nation divided.

Women can be heroes. When twenty-year-old nursing student Frances “Frankie” McGrath hears these words, it is a revelation. Raised in the sun-drenched, idyllic world of Southern California and sheltered by her conservative parents, she has always prided herself on doing the right thing...

See the Full Summary and Review of The Women

Publication Date: February 6, 2024
  
historical fiction 2024 books book club


The Briar Club
Kate Quinn

What It's About: A haunting and powerful story of female friendships and secrets in a Washington, D.C. boardinghouse during the McCarthy era.

Washington, D.C., 1950. Everyone keeps to themselves at Briarwood House, a down-at-the-heels all-female boardinghouse in the heart of the nation’s capital, where secrets hide behind white picket fences...

Publication Date: July 9, 2024
  
giveaways 2024 releases historical


The Phoenix Crown
Kate Quinn

What It's About: From bestselling authors Janie Chang and Kate Quinn, a thrilling and unforgettable narrative about the intertwined lives of two wronged women, spanning from the chaos of the San Francisco earthquake to the glittering palaces of Versailles.

San Francisco, 1906. In a city bustling with newly minted millionaires and scheming upstarts, two very different women hope to change their fortunes: Gemma, a golden-haired, silver-voiced soprano whose career desperately needs rekindling, and Suling, a petite and resolute Chinatown embroideress who is determined to escape an arranged marriage...

Publication Date: February 13, 2024
  
historical fiction mystery historical


The American Daughters
Maurice Carlos Ruffin

What It's About:

Publication Date: February 27, 2024
  
2024 releases historical civil war


The Great Divide
Cristina Henriquez

What It's About: An epic novel of the construction of the Panama Canal, casting light on the unsung people who lived, loved, and labored there.

It is said that the canal will be the greatest feat of engineering in history. But first, it must be built. For Francisco, a local fisherman who resents the foreign powers clamoring for a slice of his country, nothing is more upsetting than the decision of his son, Omar, to work as a digger in the excavation zone...

Publication Date: March 5, 2024
  
historical fiction 2024 releases historical


The Mayor of Maxwell Street
Avery Cunningham

What It's About: When a rich Black debutante enlists the help of a low-level speakeasy manager to identify the head of an underground crime syndicate, the two are thrust into the dangerous world of Prohibition-era Chicago.

The year is 1921, and America is burning. A fire of vice and virtue rages on every shore with Chicago at its beating heart...

Publication Date: January 30, 2024
  
historical fiction 2024 releases botm


The Volcano Daughters
Gina María Balibrera

What It's About: A saucy, searingly original debut about two sisters raised in the shadow of El Salvador’s brutal dictator, El Gran Pendejo, and their flight from genocide, which takes them from Hollywood to Paris to cannery row, each followed by a chorus of furies, the ghosts of their murdered friends, who aren’t yet done telling their stories...

Publication Date: August 20, 2024
  
2024 releases giveaways historical


The Thirteenth Husband
Greer Macallister

What It's About: Tearing through millions of dollars, four continents, and a hearty collection of husbands, real-life heiress Aimee Crocker blazed an unbelievable trail of public notoriety, private pain, and the kind of strong independent woman the 1880s had never seen. Her life was stranger than fiction and brighter than the stars, and she whirled through her days as if she was being chased by something larger than herself...

Publication Date: August 1, 2024
  
historical fiction giveaways 2024 releases



The Storm We Made
Vanessa Chan

What It's About: A novel about a Malayan mother who becomes an unlikely spy for the invading Japanese forces during WWII—and the shocking consequences that rain upon her community and family.

Malaya, 1945. Cecily Alcantara’s family is in terrible danger: her fifteen-year-old son, Abel, has disappeared, and her youngest daughter, Jasmin, is confined in a basement to prevent being pressed into service at the comfort stations...

Publication Date: January 2, 2024
  
historical fiction botm historical


Wandering Stars
Tommy Orange

What It's About: The eagerly awaited follow-up to Pulitzer Prize-finalist Tommy Orange’s breakout best seller There There —winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award, the John Leonard Prize, the American Book Award, and one of the New York Times 10 Best Books of 2018— Wandering Stars traces the legacies of the Sand Creek Massacre of 1864 and the Carlisle Indian Industrial School through to the shattering aftermath of Orvil Red Feather’s shooting in There There...

Publication Date: February 27, 2024
  
historical fiction 2024 releases indigenous


The Hidden Life of Cecily Larson
Ellen Baker

What It's About: Orphan Train meets Before We Were Yours meets Water for Elephants in this compelling multigenerational novel of survival, love, and the families we make.

In 1924, four-year-old Cecily Larson’s mother reluctantly drops her off at an orphanage in Chicago, promising to be back once she’s made enough money to support both Cecily and herself...

Publication Date: February 20, 2024
  
historical fiction 2024 releases giveaways


Husbands & Lovers
Beatriz Williams

What It's About: Two women—separated by decades and continents, and united by a mysterious family heirloom—discover second chances at love in this sweeping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Wives.

A sprawling and exciting new novel from Beatriz Williams, the acclaimed author of A Hundred Summers and The Summer Wives.

Publication Date: June 25, 2024
  
historical fiction giveaways romance


The Things We Didn't Know
Elba Iris Pérez

What It's About: The inaugural winner of Simon & Schuster’s Books Like Us contest, Elba Iris Pérez’s lyrical, cross-cultural coming-of-age debut novel explores a young girl’s childhood between 1950s Puerto Rico and a small Massachusetts factory town.

Andrea Rodríguez is nine years old when her mother whisks her and her brother, Pablo, away from Woronoco, the tiny Massachusetts factory town that is the only home they’ve known...

Publication Date: February 6, 2024
  
historical fiction giveaways 2024 releases


The Princess of Las Vegas
Chris Bohjalian

What It's About: A Princess Diana impersonator and her estranged sister find themselves drawn into a dangerous game of money and murder in this twisting tale of organized crime, cryptocurrency, and family secrets on the Las Vegas strip.

Crissy Dowling has created a world that suits her perfectly. She passes her days by the pool in a private cabana, she splurges on ice cream but never gains an ounce, and each evening she transforms into a Princess, performing her musical cabaret inspired by the life of the late Diana Spencer...

Publication Date: March 26, 2024
  
mystery thriller historical fiction


When the Jessamine Grows
Donna Everhart

What It's About: From one of the most powerful and authentic voices in Southern fiction comes a historical novel with an unforgettable heroine—the extraordinary Joetta McBride, who defiantly opens her North Carolina home and farm to soldiers from both sides during the Civil War.

Talk of impending war is a steady drumbeat throughout North Carolina, though Joetta McBride pays it little heed...

Publication Date: January 23, 2024
  
historical fiction giveaways civil war


Every Time We Say Goodbye
Natalie Jenner

What It's About: The bestselling author of The Jane Austen Society and Bloomsbury Girls returns with a brilliant novel of love and art, of grief and memory, of confronting the past and facing the future.

In 1955, Vivien Lowry is facing the greatest challenge of her life. Her latest play, the only female-authored play on the London stage that season, has opened in the West End to rapturous applause from the audience...

Publication Date: May 14, 2024
  
giveaways series adult fiction


Last House
Jessica Shattuck

What It's About: "An ambitious historical epic that doubles as an intimate family saga. Jessica Shattuck captures and connects it all—the imperial ambitions of the postwar generation, the rebellion of their offspring in the Sixties, and the fallout we’re still sifting through today. . . . This is a wide-ranging novel to savor...

Publication Date: May 14, 2024
  
historical fiction giveaways 2024 releases


In the Shadow of the Greenbrier
Emily Matchar

What It's About: For fans of Pam Jenoff and Diane Chamberlain, a deeply poignant multigenerational Jewish family saga set around the iconic Greenbrier hotel, inspired by the remarkable yet little-known true events that shaped America's history.

Nestled in the hills of West Virginia lies White Sulphur Springs, home to the Greenbrier Resort...

Publication Date: March 12, 2024
  
historical fiction giveaways jewish





2024 historical fiction books best new release most anticipated

2024 historical fiction books best new release most anticipated

2024 historical fiction books best new release most anticipated

Share this post

  

Bookshelf -- A literary set collection game