20 Best Book Club Books for 2022 (New & Anticipated)


2022 best book club picks new most anticipated coming soon

If you’re book club is looking for some great new releases to read, here are some of most-anticipated Best Book Club Books for 2022. This book list is limited to new and upcoming books that are being published in 2022.

When it comes to book club selections, I generally try to recommend books that have enough substance so that the group will have plenty to discuss but are still accessible reads with general appeal. And of course you want books that are just good books!

For more great book club picks, be sure to check out the 100 Best Book Club Books of All Time.


The School for Good Mothers
Jessamine Chan

What It's About: In this taut and explosive debut novel, one lapse in judgement lands a young mother in a government reform program where custody of her child hangs in the balance.

Frida Liu is struggling. She doesn’t have a career worthy of her Chinese immigrant parents’ sacrifices. She can’t persuade her husband, Gust, to give up his wellness-obsessed younger mistress...

See the Full Summary and Review of The School for Good Mothers

Publication Date: January 4, 2022
  
dystopian dnf dystopia


Sea of Tranquility
Emily St. John Mandel

What It's About: A novel of art, time, love, and plague that takes the reader from Vancouver Island in 1912 to a dark colony on the moon three hundred years later, unfurling a story of humanity across centuries and space.

Edwin St. Andrew is eighteen years old when he crosses the Atlantic by steamship, exiled from polite society following an ill-conceived diatribe at a dinner party...

Publication Date: April 5, 2022
  
science fiction sci fi time travel


Black Cake
Charmaine Wilkerson

What It's About: We can’t choose what we inherit. But can we choose who we become?
In present-day California, Eleanor Bennett’s death leaves behind a puzzling inheritance for her two children, Byron and Benny: a black cake, made from a family recipe with a long history, and a voice recording. In her message, Eleanor shares a tumultuous story about a headstrong young swimmer who escapes her island home under suspicion of murder...

Publication Date: February 1, 2022
  
historical fiction botm book club


How High We Go in the Dark
Sequoia Nagamatsu

What It's About: For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague—a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice...

Publication Date: January 18, 2022
  
sci fi science fiction 2022 releases

French Braid
Anne Tyler

What It's About: NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER - From the beloved Pulitzer Prize-winning author--a funny, joyful, brilliantly perceptive journey deep into one Baltimore family's foibles, from a boyfriend with a red Chevy in the 1950s up to a longed-for reunion with a grandchild in our pandemic present.

The Garretts take their first and last family vacation in the summer of 1959...

Publication Date: March 22, 2022
  
historical fiction 2022 books audiobooks


Book Lovers
Emily Henry

What It's About: One summer. Two rivals. A plot twist they didn't see coming...

Nora Stephens’s life is books—she’s read them all—and she is not that type of heroine. Not the plucky one, not the laid-back dream girl, and especially not the sweetheart. In fact, the only people Nora is a heroine for are her clients, for whom she lands enormous deals as a cutthroat literary agent, and her beloved little sister, Libby...

Publication Date: May 3, 2022
  
romance contemporary 2022 reads


The Diamond Eye
Kate Quinn

What It's About: The New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code returns with an unforgettable World War II tale of a quiet bookworm who becomes history's deadliest female sniper. Based on a true story.

In 1937 in the snowbound city of Kiev (now known as Kyiv), wry and bookish history student Mila Pavlichenko organizes her life around her library job and her young son--but Hitler's invasion of Ukraine and Russia sends her on a different path...

Publication Date: March 29, 2022
  
historical fiction historical 2022 books


One Italian Summer
Rebecca Serle

What It's About: When Katy’s mother dies, she is left reeling. Carol wasn’t just Katy’s mom, but her best friend and first phone call. She had all the answers and now, when Katy needs her the most, she is gone. To make matters worse, their planned mother-daughter trip of a lifetime looms: two weeks in Positano, the magical town Carol spent the summer right before she met Katy’s father...

Publication Date: March 1, 2022
  
romance 2022 books 2022 reads


The Last House on the Street
Diane Chamberlain

What It's About: From bestselling author Diane Chamberlain comes an irresistible new novel that perfectly interweaves history, mystery, and social justice.

When Kayla Carter's husband dies in an accident while building their dream house, she knows she has to stay strong for their four-year-old daughter. But the trophy home in Shadow Ridge Estates, a new development in sleepy Round Hill, North Carolina, will always hold tragic memories...

Publication Date: January 11, 2022
  
historical fiction mystery audiobook

Sister Stardust
Jane Green

What It's About: *NATIONAL BESTSELLER*

A PARADE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE YEAR
A NEW YORK POST BEST BOOK OF THE WEEK

In her first novel inspired by a true story, Jane Green re-imagines the life of troubled icon Talitha Getty in this transporting story from a forgotten chapter of the Swinging '60s
 
From afar Talitha's life seemed perfect...

Publication Date: April 5, 2022
  
historical fiction read in 2022 audio


The Family Chao
Lan Samantha Chang

What It's About: An acclaimed storyteller returns with “a gorgeous and gripping literary mystery” that explores “family, betrayal, passion, race, culture and the American Dream” (Jean Kwok).

The residents of Haven, Wisconsin, have dined on the Fine Chao Restaurant’s delicious Americanized Chinese food for thirty-five years, happy to ignore any unsavory whispers about the family owners...

Publication Date: February 1, 2022
  
mystery dnf mystery thriller


The Paris Apartment
Lucy Foley

What It's About: From the New York Times bestselling author of The Guest List comes a new locked room mystery, set in a Paris apartment building in which every resident has something to hide…

Jess needs a fresh start. She’s broke and alone, and she’s just left her job under less than ideal circumstances...

Publication Date: February 22, 2022
  
mystery thriller mystery thriller


The Tobacco Wives
Adele Myers

What It's About: For the audience of Fiona Davis and Lisa Wingate, a vibrant historical debut set in 1946 North Carolina following a young female seamstress who uncovers dangerous truths about the Big Tobacco empire ruling the American South.

“Myers brilliantly seduces us with her setting—a North Carolina town of beautiful socialites, opulent dresses, and elegant soirees—before revealing a terrible secret that threatens the entire community...

Publication Date: March 1, 2022
  
historical fiction audiobook read in 2022


Take My Hand
Dolen Perkins-Valdez

What It's About: Inspired by true events that rocked the nation, a profoundly moving novel about a Black nurse in post-segregation Alabama who blows the whistle on a terrible wrong done to her patients, from the New York Times bestselling author of Wench.

Montgomery, Alabama 1973. Fresh out of nursing school, Civil Townsend has big plans to make a difference, especially in her African American community...

Publication Date: April 12, 2022
  
historical fiction botm historical


Violeta
Isabel Allende

What It's About: This sweeping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of A Long Petal of the Sea tells the epic story of Violeta del Valle, a woman whose life spans one hundred years and bears witness to the greatest upheavals of the twentieth century.

Violeta comes into the world on a stormy day in 1920, the first girl in a family of five boisterous sons...

Publication Date: January 25, 2022
  
historical fiction 2022 releases historical

The Magnolia Palace
Fiona Davis

What It's About: Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue, returns with a tantalizing novel about the secrets, betrayal, and murder within one of New York City’s most impressive Gilded Age mansions.

Eight months since losing her mother in the Spanish flu outbreak of 1919, twenty-one-year-old Lillian Carter’s life has completely fallen apart...

Publication Date: January 25, 2022
  
historical fiction botm book of the month


The Christie Affair
Nina de Gramont

What It's About: Why would the world's most famous mystery writer disappear for eleven days? What makes a woman desperate enough to destroy another woman's marriage? How deeply can a person crave revenge?

In 1925, Miss Nan O’Dea infiltrated the wealthy, rarefied world of author Agatha Christie and her husband, Archie...

Publication Date: February 1, 2022
  
historical fiction mystery audiobooks


Four Treasures of the Sky
Jenny Tinghui Zhang

What It's About: Daiyu never wanted to be like the tragic heroine for whom she was named, revered for her beauty and cursed with heartbreak. But when she is kidnapped and smuggled across an ocean from China to America, Daiyu must relinquish the home and future she imagined for herself. Over the years that follow, she is forced to keep reinventing herself to survive...

Publication Date: April 5, 2022
  
historical fiction historical 2022 releases


The Book Woman's Daughter (The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek #2)
Kim Michele Richardson

What It's About: An Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

Bestselling historical fiction author Kim Michele Richardson is back with the perfect book club read following Honey Mary Angeline Lovett, the daughter of the beloved Troublesome book woman, who must fight for her own independence with the help of the women who guide her and the books that set her free...

Publication Date: May 3, 2022
  
historical fiction audiobooks audiobook




2022 best book club picks new most anticipated coming soon

Share this post